

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY GOA Farmagudi, Ponda, Goa – 403401

Phone No: 0832 - 2404200, Fax No: 2404202

Minutes of the 3rd Senate Meeting of NIT Goa

Date: 02/05/2014

Time: 10:00 A.M

Venue: Conference Hall, NIT Goa

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY GOA

The 3^{rd} Senate Meeting of NIT Goa was held at the conference hall of the Institute at 10: 00 a.m. on 02/05/2014.

Presiding: Prof. (Dr.) G.R.C. Reddy Hon'ble Director of NIT Goa

Members Present:

- 1. Dr. Lalit K. Jiwani, Associate Professor, NIT Goa [HoD, ECE]
- 2. Dr. Venu Gopal Reddy, Assistant Professor, NIT Goa [HoD, EEE]
- 3. Dr. Damodar Reddy Edla, Assistant Professor, NIT Goa [HoD, CSE]
- 4. Dr. P. Saidi Reddy, Assistant Professor, NIT Goa [HoD, HSS]
- 5. All other faculty members
 [Invitees]

MINUTES OF THE 3rd SENATE MEETING:

	Subject of Minutes
Agenda 1	Finalization of Degree Certificate Design
Resolution	 Senate discussed and decided the following: Security Measures in certificates: a. For Degree Certificates, there should be a water mark with NIT Goa Logo, QRC (Quick Response Code) should be there at the bottom left side corner and embossed NIT Goa logo on the top middle of the certificate. b. For Transcript there should be a water mark with NIT Goa Logo, QRC should be there at the bottom left corner and student photograph on the top right corner. c. For Grade Card, there should be micro letters in background of the certificate.
	 Signatories in the certificates: a. For Ph.D Certificate, Chairman BoG, Director and Registrar will be the Signatories. b. For transcript, Dy. Registrar Academic and I/c Exam Cell will be the Signatories c. For Grade Card, Dy. Registrar Academic and I/c Exam Cell will be the Signatories d. For Provisional Certificate Assistant Registrar Academic and I/c Exam Cell will be the Signatories
Agenda 2	Finalization of Medals for Convocation
Resolution	Senate discussed and decided that: a. There should be one Gold medal i.e President's Medal for over all topper of the Institute. b. There should be one Gold medal i.e Director's Medal for topper in academic of the Institute. c. There should be one Silver medal for topper in each department.

Agenda 3	Drill for Convocation
	Senate discussed and decided that President/ Prime
	Minister of India or any eminent Scientist should be
	invited as Chief Guest for the convocation.
Agenda 4	Constitution of Committee to explore the possibility of
	Inter-linkages with other Institute/Industries/ R&D
	Organization under the chairmanship of Prof. Kota
	Harinarayna.
	Senate discussed and decided to constitute the following committee:
	committee.
	For Department of CSE:
	1. Dr. Damodar Reddy Edla
	2. Dr. Pravin Amrut Pawar
	3. Mr. Purushotama B.R
	4. Mrs. Veena T
	For Department of ECE:
	1. Dr. Lalit Jiwani
	2. Dr. Nitin Kumar Y.B
	3. Dr. Anirban Chatterjee
	For Department of EEE:
	1. Dr. venu Gopal Reddy
	2. Dr. Suresh Mikkili
	3. Dr. Raj Kumar Biswas
	For Department of HSS:
	1. Dr. P. Saidi reddy
	2. Dr. Ravi Prasad K.J
A 1 - 5	3. Dr. Velavan Kathirvelu
Agenda 5	Any Other Points with the permission of Chair
	Senate recommended that 25 % of course in the Institute
	should be taught by person from Industry / R&D
	organization.

-sd-Chairman